The holiday season puts many of us in a giving spirit. Some choose to donate their money. Others might donate their unwanted clothes, food, or toys. Many choose to donate their free time by volunteering.

North East Pennsylvania has a great need for help from kind hearted people, looking to fill a little of their spare time. Here are a few opportunities to satiate your giving spirit:

For animal lovers, there are plenty of opportunities to give:

Griffin Pond Animal Shelter is always looking for volunteers to help with their homeless animal friends. If you’re interested (and are over 18) please contact Taryn Wintermantel at 570-585-0516 between the hours 12pm and 4pm.

If you’re looking to help animals in a more permanent way, Adopt a Boxer Rescue is looking for foster pet parents. If interested, send an email to Dawn@adoptaboxerrescue.com

AWSOM Animal Shelter, a non-kill shelter in the Stroudsburg area, is in need of Animal Care Assistant Volunteers. Must be 18 or older. Call 570-421-DOGS (3647)

For those interested in more exotic animals, Indrolaka Animal Sanctuary, in Mehoopany, is looking for Sanctuary Tour guides. Those interested can email Indra Lahiri at Indra@epix.net.

Oak Left Horsemanship Center in Nicholson is trying to find horse walkers/horse handlers. Email Loretta Dragon at Loretta@oakleafthc.org if you have a passion for horses.

Animals not really your thing? There are plenty of opportunities to help improve the lives of human children.

Concern4kids a non-profit child welfare agency is looking for some help around their office in Eynon. If interested, please email Joe Monczewski at jmonczewski@concern4kids.org.

The Greater Scranton YMCA is trying to find child watch volunteers at their center in Dunmore. Send Meghan Davis an email at mdavis@greaterscrantonymca.org to inquire.

If you feel you have the aptitude for helping to shape young minds, Junior Achievement of NEPA is looking for Tutors in Pittston. If you are interested in teaching simple financial and literacy skills to elementary classes please contact Paul Francis at Pfrancis@janepa.org.

Are you a lover of the arts? Are you looking to get more involved in your local arts community? Consider one of these great volunteer opportunities.

The Northeastern PA Philharmonic in Wilkes-Barre is in need of a few people to assist in their lobby during performances. If you love classical music and have some free time please email Pat Arvonio at Parvonio@nepaphil.org.

The Sherman Theatre, in Stroudsburg, is a beautiful venue. If you are over 18 and interested in volunteering as an usher or ticket taker, please email Richard Berkowitz at Rich@Shermantheater.com.

WVIA has long been a bastion of support for art in North East Pennsylvania. If you’re interested in volunteering for one of their pledge drives Contact Amber Loomis by phone at 570-602-1123, or by email at Amberloomis@wvia.org.

If your passion for giving is more geared towards seniors, there are still plenty of opportunities.

If you’re the techy sort, Mid-Valley Senior Center in Jessup, is looking for volunteers to help teach computer skills to seniors. If this sounds like the right job for you, email Lisa Torch at ltorch@uncnepa.org.

If you have a friendly demeanor and are looking to fill a little free time, you might consider volunteering as a receptionist for Carbondale Senior Center. Lisa Torch can be contacted at ltorch@uncnepa.org if you would like more information.

If you would like to personally visit with someone on hospice, Hospice of the Sacred Heart in Wilkes-Barre is looking for people of a good nature and gentle spirit to visit with their patients. They also need a few volunteers to do office work, if that’s more your speed. Email Ann Seechock at aseechok@hospicesacredheart.org for more information.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •